From Pontarfynach head out to Aberystwyth and follow the coast to Llanerchaeron. From Tresaith take the road to Cardigan before heading out to Fishguard. Head towards Cilgerran and then the Ffynone Mansion before arriving at Dolaucothi to look for gold.
A short but demanding walk will take you to the legend that is The Devil’s Bridge and the rewarding views and sounds of the Rheidol gorge, the three bridges and the waterfalls.
A university and seaside town nestling under three hills has a long promenade around its two beaches with a backdrop of elegant Victorian buildings. One of the hills Pen Dinas is the site now of Norman castle ruins built over a large iron age fort. Climb Constitution Hill via the longest electric cliff railway for some views over the town and the distant hills.
Following the coastal route past small communities and beaches to the National Trust’s Georgian villa. Designed in the 1790’s by John Nash you can explore the house, kitchen and walled gardens, views over the lake and walks through the extensive parkland. No National Trust visit is complete without a trip to the tea shop and this one is a woodland setting overlooking the River Aeron.
An intimate and family friendly sandy beach nestling between two headlands offering rock pools to explore and two small waterfalls descending on to the beach at low tide. The nearby Penbryn beach offers nearly a mile of golden sands and some caves to explore at low tide.
With its imposing bridge over the river Teifi guarded at one side by the imposing castle this is a lovely town to spend some time in. The old streets of the town open to the harbour, beaches and the river with plenty to do and many places to just relax with some food and drink. With seals in the bay and kingfishers further up the valley this is a wildlife viewing destination that is hard to beat.
A ferry port for a fast 3+ hour crossing to Ireland that was also the last place that the British Isles were invaded by France in 1797. Fishguard fort on Castel Point participated in the invasion battle. The scenery in the immediate area is rugged but with excellent walks and views especially at Strumble Head and its lighthouse. Visit the nearby Pentre Ifan burial mound.
Overlooking the River Teifi the castle ruins date from the 13th century and offers lovely views of the wide Teifi Gorge which is a mixture of fresh and sea water at this point and a perfect place for canoeing as the river meanders down the valley created in the last ice age past ancient woodland and abundant wildlife.
A magnificent 18th century house designed by John Nash set in 20 acres of landscaped woodland and gardens filled with rhododendrons and azaleas. The house is open to the public but has to be pre-booked. The estate is still owned by the Lloyd George family.
Gold was discovered in them there hills by the Romans and amounts were still extracted until the 2nd World War. Owned by the National Trust you have the chance to explore the woodland in the Cothi valley or go underground to see the conditions faced by miners through the ages.